Beauty And The Backpack

Comment 1 Standard

Today, I have some BIG news to share with you all.

Are you ready for it?

You may want to make sure you’re sat down for this one.

Yesterday I had my first haircut in OVER A YEAR.

Okay, so maybe it isn’t the truly groundbreaking piece of goss you were hoping for but it felt like a pretty momentous occasion. Not least because the last time I had a haircut was in India and it cost less than half the price.

Someone take me back, pls.

I don’t think I’ve ever been a super girly girl. I mean, I love make-up and heels and dressing up for an occasion but I never end up looking quite as immaculate as I’m aiming for. My eyeliner is always a little bit wonky and after five minutes my hair looks more like a giant ball of frizz rather that falling in elegant waves around my shoulders.

I think I’ve finally reached a point now though where I’m OKAY with that. I can get up in the morning and be fine with whacking my hair up and sticking my old Nike’s on rather than spending all of the previous night worrying about what I’m going to wear. Its comfy and hey dare I say even looks more than fine on some occasions. I’m hardly walking around starkers. Which no one should be subjected to.

Growing up I felt pretty insecure about my looks. My eyebrows were always bigger than everyone else’s, I always seemed to have slightly more spots and I didn’t have a clue about fashion or make-up or the best way to do my hair.

It may be a teenage/young adult thing but I always felt there was a pressure to look right (whatever that meant) and that I never quite nailed it.

Then I went travelling.

And realised that no one actually really cared (in the nicest way possible). And it was fab.

The pressure disappeared. Realistically, you’re going to have to wear the same outfit more than once and if you manage to fit GHD’s into your backpack then I salute you.

You could put layers of make-up on but is there really any point when you’re spending your days on long bus journeys, trekking through jungles, relaxing on the beach or roaming new cities?

I mean, I’m not saying its cool to make no effort whatsoever, more, stick to the basics maybe. Whack a bit of mascara on and roll out the door. The sun will soon sort your skin out. Enjoy being wherever you are.

Once I got used to it I enjoyed waking up and knowing it didn’t really matter if my outfit wasn’t quite coordinated or my hair was having its own private party on top of my head. Because at the end of the day I was out exploring the crazy, amazing, gorgeous world we live in with some brilliant company.

Besides, if I couldn’t accept myself for me, who else would?

One thought on “Beauty And The Backpack

Leave a Reply

